Author Topic: T.R. - EJ week at OKS  (Read 939 times)

cdbkayak2008

Re: T.R. - EJ week at OKS
« Reply #2 on: July 26, 2008, 01:49:54 PM »

Hi everyone!
I too recently came back from a fantastic week at OKS!
I was in the beginner/novice group the week of July 14.  This was my second time there, having done the same course last July. I think there were 12 adults in the group and I was in a group of 5 with the same instructor as last year, Jarrett.  He took 4 of us who already had some experience and one young guy who was quite keen and a fast learner. The other people split between 2 instructors but stayed together as a group. They were total beginners and they all progressed very quickly too.

Highlights:
- I did learn to roll, but not every time. So there is still work to be done there.
- I was more comfortable in the Jackson Fun than I have been in any other boat and just bought my own last night!! It is yellow and for those keeping track of such things for future photo opportunities - yellow helmet, red pfd, green H2O paddle.
- An obvious highlight - bumped into Colin at lunch spot at Garvin's!
- Also chatted with EJ at lunch. He is quite nice. He was teaching the keeners that week.
- Last year I had a perfect record at Sattler's. This year, let's just say I saw from a different perspective. Like upside-down.
- Upper No Name is far more terrifying than Lower No Name for me because I actually have to use various skills to get through it and not continue directly to the lower part.
- Whereas Lower No Name is more of an event. Point kayak and hope for the best!